Skip to content

Facing the Music

June 16, 2011

I’ve been contemplating this post for awhile, but like any good addict, I was in denial. So here it goes!

As much as I really do love running, I really don’t think I am truly a runner. Sure, I can run out there and peel out miles, but I don’t have the natural ability as I had in other sports (cough, SWIMMING, cough) and my propensity for injuries makes me feel infuriated and depressed all at the same time.

However, that doesn’t mean that I’m not going to try to change that!

In order to improve, I need to get real with myself. So, let me break it down!

I am NOT in great shape. Sure, I can run. I could probably go out and run 26.2 miles tomorrow if I wanted, but I’m not in any shape to run a marathon and achieve my personal best. I was plugging along at a good clip when my hip decided to act up and cause some problems. That required a full week off and a paired down training plan. Boo.

I came to this realization when I was sitting in my swim coach’s backyard at my reunion this past weekend. We sat around reminiscing about old sets, awesome swims, meets and funny stories.  Granted I was in college, going to class roughly 3 hours a day, which was equivalent, if not less than the amount of working out I was doing each day. 2 hours of tough practice in the pool, 30 minutes of of dry land, another hour of night practice and then add in weight training 3x a week. On top of that I was racing every single weekend. BOOM, I was in incredible shape. Now that schedule, I realize, is not realistic for a working professional that sits at a desk for 9-10 hours a day. The 3 hours of class to 3 hours of working out, not a bad ratio if you ask me. Wah, can I go back?!

I know I will never be 20 year old Kim, but deep in my gut I realized I need to kick it up several notches if I want to improve, or at least feel good about my performance.

I need to party less. The past month has been a bit of a whirlwind. It’s been a blast, with our annual Derby party,  huge party wedding in North Carolina, Memorial Day weekend and my reunion, my liver is hurting! Summer always means more gatherings, but I need to remember to hibernate on weekends that don’t have a fun event and remember that I don’t need to be the life of the party or queen of the dance floor at EVERY event.

I need to be better with morning workouts. My schedule has been so crazy and my work load isn’t dying down anytime soon, so I really need to buckle down and get used to waking up at 5am, plain and simple! Luckily last week I had 4 mornings of 4:45 or 5am wake ups, which is a huge win for this girl!

I need to clean up my diet. Don’t get me wrong, I eat healthy, but just as I said I’m not truly a runner, I don’t feel as though I’m giving 100% effort with watching what I eat and staying away from foods that end up leading to tummy aches and shorter runs. Whoops, I guess my love of baking doesn’t really help this situation…

I realize I should just relax and enjoy life, but with the SF Marathon 44 days away, I figure it’s better to face the music, clean up my act and move on.

The fact of the matter is, Being in GOOD shape (I realize great is probably not feasible with my schedule, let’s get real here) and seeing improvement is what makes me happy. I’m not saying this is how everyone should live their lives, but I’m so type A and intense that I won’t be happy with a mediocre effort. So, I’m going to set out to work towards achieving that GOOD shape that I crave.

I might not ever be a natural, gifted runner, but I’m going to adjust somethings and keep going. I do this for me, and though everyone will probably say I’m doing fine, I know in my gut that I need to adjust some things. If not, I’m going to be disappointed come July 31st, even if I am just doing this marathon for fun!

For those you are still with me, thanks. Phew. So glad that is over.

On the plus side, the Boston Bruins, my fourth favorite team in the City of Boston (Sorry Bruins, hockey has never really been my thing), won the Stanley Cup last night. Causing my heart to swell with pride for my city. I found the image below and I knew I had to repost it. Sorry all you Vancouver fans or Boston haters!

Have you ever had a moment where you realize that you weren’t prepared for a big athletic event? How did you change your training plan?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 4:53 pm

    Kim,

    If you flip the words “runner” and “swimmer” in this post, you’ve pretty much summed up MY side of this story. I’m closer to sinking than skimming the water. And all the other things you said apply. But you know what? We’re still out there doing the sport we love AND adding another one or two on top. So … GOOD FOR US!!

  2. June 16, 2011 5:14 pm

    Umm hi. Did you write this post for me? I ran a marathon totally unprepared and although it wasnt awful…it wasnt the best experience either. I kinda feel like they should tell you about crazy hours when you take a job in advertising. Training for a marathon? Don’t work in advertising. Ughh I totally relate to this post kimmy.but I know you are going to preserver!!! Happy youre back!

  3. June 16, 2011 6:07 pm

    Sounds like you know what you need to do 🙂 I kind of had to do this to myself the other day… SUCK IT UP ARON! It won’t take long but the flow and habits will come back. Being in good shape is so worth it 🙂

  4. Adrienne permalink
    June 16, 2011 8:11 pm

    I feel your pain! Having fun in the summer is not conducive to serious running….. So very hard to balance

  5. June 16, 2011 10:14 pm

    I’m with you 100% of this one Kimmy. You know why I think I can’t cut the crap and get serious with training…there’s no team. Doing something for yourself is great, but it also means you only have to be accountable to yourself. And that is the problem at 5am…no one cares if you don’t get up and it’s too easy to justify sleep over workouts when you work 10 hours a day. Keep up the good work, PMA!

  6. June 16, 2011 10:32 pm

    I hear ya, and I probably need to do some of the same things you’re doing. Good luck with the running!

  7. June 17, 2011 10:34 am

    I think you’re being really smart and realistic. We all haves times in our lives when work/friends/family takes over and working out needs to take a backseat for a little while. I would be nice to be back in college and have all the time in the world to work out 🙂 But I think your positive, determined attitude will take you a long way here. You clearly WANT to run this marathon and are going to be smart and do what you can to make that the best possible experience for you.

  8. June 17, 2011 10:53 am

    OO kimmy! Don’t worry, enjoy!!! It is so ok. Don’t be so hard on yourself! You are pretty amazing 🙂
    But my advice, the early mornings are really helpful. Do it with someone else, keeps you accountable!! Also Jake will totally whip you into shape. let him know, he is awesome and will help 🙂 🙂

  9. bostonita permalink
    June 21, 2011 11:06 am

    I’m finding that if I don’t have a big athletic event I’m working twds, I immediately start pressing snooze when the alarm goes off at 5:30 am and it’s over. I think I always need a big athletic event in the future to keep me in track, if not, its too easy to be lay.

  10. July 5, 2011 8:46 pm

    Kim, I think we all go through these periods and have to take a step back and realize what we can do to kick things up. It sounds like you have done just that and you will be there soon! See you in a couple weeks!

  11. July 28, 2011 7:38 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this post! I actually just had this realization about myself! Our training schedules for the goals we are shooting for seem to be pretty similar as well! LOVE am workouts!

Leave a Reply

