Skip to content

Revisiting & Revising 2011 Goals

May 13, 2011

So now that we are five months into 2011, I figured it might be a good time to look back at the goals I set for myself on December 30th 2010….

Goals for 2011

  • Only run shorter races – This year I’ve made the conscious decision NOT to run a marathon. Last year that decision was made for me, which was heartbreaking, but I’m moving on. I’m going to focus on 5-10k’s, triathlons and half marathons.Clearly I didn’t accomplish this goal, and I’m really happy about it.
  • New Goal: Run the SF Marathon and get back to LOVING distance running, so far I am on a great track!

On the road back to LOVING running in April!

  • More Yoga –  in 2011, I’m going to make every effort to go at least once a week in order to reduce injury and help work on my core. So far I have averaged going to Yoga nearly once a week in 2011, which is a huge accomplishment for me!  This is directly correlated to injury prevention – hooray!
  • More morning gym work outs – This also goes hand in hand with #4… I need to improve upon this, my hopes are that it will get easier now that it is consistently warm out! 
  • New Goal: Work out 3 mornings a week.
  • Get More Sleep – So then I can’t hit that snooze button and skip the gym! Still need to improve this one!
  • Renewed focus on Healthy Eating and Portion Control– Easier said than done, but this is always a challenge! So far, so good! I have really been trying to resist bad food that comes through my office and watch my portion control. So far it’s paid off and I’ve slowly been slimming down to a better weight for marathon training.
  • More time at the Cape!– It is my happy place, after all. Looking to spend as many weekends as possible down on the cape at my family’s house 🙂
  • New Goal: Spend less time stressing out and more time enjoying life & spending time with Foxy!
My goals for 2011 have shifted slightly but I still think that they are attainable and I will have a great time in the process!
Have your goals for the year changed since NYE?
5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 10:40 am

    Awesome goals! Love how you check in and revise as necessary…

  2. May 13, 2011 10:44 am

    Great goals! It always feels so good to achieve a goal that you’ve set for yourself. I didn’t make a lot of concrete goals for the year, but I did make a goal to experience life and live without a fear of the unknown. There are lots of unknowns in my life, but I still feel positive. Here’s to the next 7 months of 2011!

  3. May 13, 2011 8:24 pm

    Great goals, and great job with them!

  4. May 14, 2011 11:25 am

    Love all of these! I think it’s great that you recognized the reason you wanted to get back to shorter races was because you were a little burnt out on running, but now that you’ve gotten back to loving it you’re ready to train for a marathon 🙂 I hope you make it down to the cape a lot this summer – time on the beach can be the best way to de-stress!

  5. May 17, 2011 12:03 am

    This one is by far my fav, “Spend less time stressing out and more time enjoying life & spending time with Foxy!”

    Oh wait, scratch that – it’s the one where you are coming to CALIFORNIA!!!!

Leave a Reply

