Skip to content

Marathon Weekend Preparation

April 15, 2011

The Marathon Weekend to end all marathon weekends is almost here! Things are a little crazy this week in the preparation…You are probably asking, why is it so crazy?

I’ve been busy coordinating race weekend activities for the American Cancer Society’s DetmeriNation runners!

Some hardcore D-Nation runners in Hyannis

Lizzy and I are throwing an awesome Marathon Pre-Party complete with awesome goody bags filled with shwag! Since Lizzy is running on Monday, I told her not to worry and I would coordinate all of the last minute shwag details for the event. That means this week has been filled with a GAZILLION errands and Foxy has been earning boyfriend of year points left and right by catering me all over town to get running accessory samples. If you come to the party on Saturday, definitely give Foxy kudos.

Goody bags taking up temporary residence in my tiny apt

Oh, and did I mention mini-cupcakes?!?! Last night I started prepping everything for Saturday. And the flavors? Peanut buttercup, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough & Regular old vanilla cake, complete with my favorite frosting. For those who are running and don’t want to indulge prior to the big race, I will be asking for plenty of small “to-go boxes” so you can enjoy them post race if you so please!

Just a few in production

No, this isn’t my to do list for work, this is my Boston Marathon Weekend To Do list, yikes!

As I mentioned in my last post, I am planning on meeting my friend Noel around mile 19 in Newton and pacing her for the rest of the race. I figured establishing a BRIGHT outfit ahead of time would help make me stick out. Runners, look for me as the crazy girl with the seizure inducing running outfit. (Yes, my bedding is Pink and Green…no I’m not a 5 year old girl, I’m a prep from New England!)

And yes, all of this prep work, running around like a crazy person, & planning is worth it! IT’S the best weekend of the year!!!!! Marathon Monday just around the corner! Good luck Runners!!!

If you are in town for the marathon, what is your Marathon Weekend plan?!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 10:45 am

    I will be in town for the weekend. There’s a MARATHON going on? &%#@! I hate all those skinny people taking over the streets!

  2. April 15, 2011 10:51 am

    The goody bags look great! I am so sad that I have to miss your party! We need to meet up!

  3. April 15, 2011 10:59 am

    Oh my gosh, you are so awesome with all you’re doing for the marathon, Kimmy!!! Can’t wait for the party tomorrow! (Especially your cupcakes – I might need one of each 🙂 )

  4. April 15, 2011 11:18 am

    You are so thoughtful — this is so nice of you to do!! (P/S: I LOVE YOUR OUTFIT!!!!!!) Stay sane with that to-do list this weekend, and have fun! 🙂 🙂

  5. April 15, 2011 11:39 am

    I wish I was able to go to watch the Boston marathon. I love volunteering at races and helping all the athletes prepare for their big day

  6. April 15, 2011 12:09 pm

    those shorts are amazing! see you this weekend, so excited!!!!

    • ehalnon permalink
      April 15, 2011 12:40 pm

      remember when you told me my pair of shorts with the EXACT SAME pattern looked like a lawn chair you had growing up? i do.

  7. ehalnon permalink
    April 15, 2011 12:39 pm

    what if i want cupcakes to eat on site AND after the marathon? I hope you can accommodate my nutritional needs .

    AAAHHHH! CAN’T WAIT!!!

  8. April 15, 2011 12:47 pm

    That looks like so much fun! I wish I was going to be in town for all the festivities!

  9. April 15, 2011 7:16 pm

    Thank you for ALL of your help!! The goody bags are AMAZING!!! Also, picked up my BAA 5K number today with a very awesome shirt! I will stop complaining about the $45 now 🙂

  10. Stephanie permalink
    April 19, 2011 12:08 pm

    The cupcakes look amazing.

    Found your blog through Lizzy, a friend of mine.

    Hope your mini boston marathon went well! Good for you. so wonderful to jump and support the runners and yesterday was such an amazing day for it! yay marathon monday!

Leave a Reply

