Skip to content

Favorite Hat: Found!

April 9, 2011

This morning I peeled myself out of bed, started rummaging around in my closet when I made a major discovery. I screamed & jumped up and down, YESSS! After a week of separation I found my sacred LIVESTRONG Bright Yellow Running hat.

This hat is my personal favorite for the technical aspects, but most importantly, it has been with me when I started my journey with running marathons. The thought of losing my trusty hat left me feeling panicked.

Foxy bought me the hat at Niketown in Boston prior to the 2008 ING NYC Marathon which I ran for LIVESTRONG foundation in honor of a recently deceased friend. I brought the hat with me to NYC & ran 26.2 miles in what was one of the most exciting days of my life.

The hat has been through the GOOD in…

Mile 24 in NYC! The hat was great for my spectators, who had no problem spotting me in that crowds of New York

Johnny Kelley Half Marathon, 2009 (Also Foxy’s First 5k)

Post Corporate Challenge 2009

And the BAD

Heartbreak Hill Half Marathon – Neon Shirt + Bright Yellow hat = Running outfit fail

Marine Corps Marathon, worst.race.ever

When the hat was lost I ordered a hot pink 26.2 Headsweats hat, I’m excited for this new addition, but nothing will ever compare to my love for my ratty, smelly & memory laden yellow LIVESTRONG hat.

 

Do you have a running accessory that you simply can’t part with regardless of how old & sweaty it might be?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2011 10:12 pm

    I’m obsessed with my Nike Gloves- I have to wash them after every use tho… I’m thinking I should run in a hat for Boston so people can find me. Hmmm… maybe I will invest in a bright one! Good seeing you Swimmy. Had so much fun. xo

  2. lauren permalink
    April 10, 2011 1:33 am

    Heeeey! I love that pic of us!

  3. April 10, 2011 6:56 am

    haha, you are hilarious, I love this post. 🙂

  4. April 10, 2011 6:36 pm

    Yay! Glad you found your hat!! (I love it, btw…I need to get myself a bright hat like that). I’m like that with my “marathon shorts” They’re just a pair of shorts that I absolutely love, and I’ve worn them for just about every race since I got them. Some might see that as gross…I see it as lucky 🙂

  5. April 10, 2011 7:21 pm

    I have a yellow running hat, too. It’s perfect for helping my supporters spot me on the course. I wore it at National, but I’m afraid the experience ruined my fondness for the hat. Honestly, I have no gear that compares to my bulky, blue Camelbak. I am in love with it and never want to part with it. I’m so glad you have your hat back!!

  6. April 10, 2011 9:25 pm

    Hoooray for being reunited with your hat!! 🙂 🙂 I can’t really think of any accessory I can’t part with, other than my Garmin and maybe some too-old shoes. 🙂 I do weird things on race day, like convince myself a certain pair of socks or underwear are lucky, but I definitely don’t wear them religiously or repeatedly!!

    AHHAHA! And definitely will NOT be setting off the Lunk Alarm at my gym! LOL. I don’t even approach that section, even though I should probably do some weight training. 🙂 Thank you for your concern, though, ahaha!

    xoxo,
    A

Leave a Reply

