Skip to content

Paying for Over Indulging

March 2, 2011

For the most part, I consider myself a healthy eater. I like to stick to whole grains, fresh, local ingredients and I’m obsessed with produce. My whole work day actually revolves around eating! I try my best to make good decisions, but sometimes I have a hard time resisting temptation. What makes it especially hard is the amount of sweets and junk food that filter in and out of my office. Oh, and the two award winning bakeries around the corner from my office? Those don’t help either.

So after a workoutless weekend, I arrived at my office Monday morning determined to be EXTRA good. That was until lunch time when a few of my coworkers went out and bought cupcakes for a coworker’s birthday! These aren’t just any cupcakes, they are melt in your mouth, LIFE CHANGING cupcakes… I resisted for as long as possible, and then decided to have a quarter of a cupcake, that can’t be all that bad, right?

Then, a an hour later, another quarter…then 30 minutes later “Oh, I didn’t notice this wonderful s’mores cupcake” Another quarter.

45 minutes later: “I’m stressed and I need something” Another quarter. Oops. I just ate a full cupcake! Oh cupcakes, you are my Achilles heel.

After feeling bad for myself, I just decided I would move on and have a GREAT work out and a small dinner to compensate for my indulgences.

I got to the gym on the early side, since Monday’s are always packed. My stomach was grumbling and yelling at me for the cupcake. “Uh oh”, I thought, “this isn’t going to be pretty.” I hopped on a treadmill and proceeded to warm up for one mile. My intentions were to do 4-5 tempo miles, but with the war being waged in my stomach, I quickly shelved that idea.

So, I just decided to get in a standard 3 mile treadmill run and then do some lifting. My stomach was up and down, but the treadmill line was so long that I knew I had to maximize my time and get in the best run possible. When I hit three miles I told myself, just go for 4, it’s only 8-ish minutes of your life! My stomach war waged on, and that’s when I vowed never to give into a sweet or unhealthy treat before a run. This feeling, not to fun! Those cupcakes? While they were delicious, this feeling is NOT worth the pain. I trudged through the final mile and finished my run in roughly 37 minutes/9:15 pace. Not terrible, but definitely not a run to write home about.

This run wasn’t exactly fun, I definitely have learned my lesson (for this week, at least.) When it comes to running, keeping a healthy diet and keeping treats to a minimum are integral to success. After all, we are what we eat!

In other news…

I just registered for the Katie Lynch Heartbreak Hill Half Marathon on May 15th. I ran this race last year completely unprepared for the punishing hills of Newton and I swore up and down that I would never run this race again. The race was a PW (Personal Worst) of 2:05:11, 15 minutes off my PR. However, after registering for San Fran I think it’s in my best interest to train and race on some hills.

Have you ever over indulged and suffered through a workout because of it? How do you resist temptations?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 1:05 pm

    Indulging in one cupcake is definitely not a problem HOWEVER doing it before the workout may be. I always do my cupcake eating (and you know I do a lot of it) after I get my sweat on. Well…sometimes during. But that’s just good fuel.

  2. March 2, 2011 1:54 pm

    I do the same thing!! I LOVE cupcakes, but I always feel SO SLUGGISH afterward. I’ll usually be yawning and crashing the entire bus ride home and getting out for a run after work can feel much harder than if I eat well.

    Now, if only I could REMEMBER THAT FEELING the next time I want a cupcake mid-afternoon. 🙂

  3. Jessa permalink
    March 2, 2011 3:07 pm

    Sorry you didn’t get the workout in you hoped for, but ehm….one cupcake does not make an overindulgence in my book.

    • March 2, 2011 3:14 pm

      Oh no, it definitely wasn’t an over indulgence in the grand scheme of things, but it probably wasn’t the best pre-workout snack 🙂 I’m also just trying to be good and watch what I eat these days and a cupcake wasn’t really something I planned on. Oh well, such is life!

  4. March 2, 2011 3:20 pm

    oh man, i could never eat a quarter of a cupcake, i have zero willpower.

  5. March 3, 2011 7:25 am

    Not gonna lie – this happens to me all the time – I have the WORST willpower with food – obvs. I am sometimes able to resist by thinking about how a ton of people touched the food, and maybe didn’t wash their hands? it was easy when I worked in a big office – but now that there are 5 people and I see them washing their hands all the time – I know those treats are tidy………nom.

  6. March 3, 2011 8:09 am

    I think cupcakes are worth the pain!

  7. March 3, 2011 1:33 pm

    Those cupcakes look awesome! And maybe I will run that race with you! maybbbee

  8. March 3, 2011 9:24 pm

    PSHA! It’s a girl’s right to eat as many cupcakes as she wants dammit!!!! Glad you loved ’em

    And yay for another half! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

