Skip to content

The First DetermiNation Pub Run and I’m Running the SF Marathon!

February 25, 2011

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m involved in the American Cancer Society’s DetermiNation program.

I walked over from my office and met up with the crew at The Point in Faneuil Hall. I normally avoid bars in Faneuil Hall at all costs, but since this was a school night and we were heading out for a run, I made an exception. We all introduced one another and then set off for our 5 mile run!

Here is part of the crew in a cute, pre-sweaty picture (don’t mind the Bud Light Court Street sign)

We set out for a route running through downtown and doing a big loop into the Seaport District of Boston. I had a great time chatting with fellow committee members and other newbies that were joining us for the first time. We all started in a pack together, and then slowly clumped together in groups of 2-3 each. I ran with two girls from the North End Running Club, Amber and Monica. Amber was exceptionally speedy, so at times I felt like I was sprinting at max pace to keep up with her! One small downside was since this was our first run we missed a turn which ended up shaving .7 off of our run. No one really seemed to mind the shortened distance and everyone agreed they were fine with running 4.25 vs 5.0. We all finished and cheered, such a great first group run!

And now, for the pub portion…

With Miss DetermiNation herself 🙂

I had a great time and I can’t wait for the next Pub Run! Next time I am hoping we can run around the Charles River so then we can have a more clear cut path and less confusion. I also think it would be fun to mix up our routes as well as “pubs” to keep things interesting! That might cause some confusion, but I think it might bring a fun element to the event. Even with all of the stops to figure out our route and crossing streets, we managed to hold a 9:42/avg pace. I think next time we will certainly be a well oiled machine!

The next American Cancer Society Pub Run is March 10th @ 6:30pm leaving from The Point in Faneuil Hall RSVP on FB. This time we’ll have the whole upstairs and free apps!

In other news…

I am officially signed up for the San Francisco FULL Marathon!!

After a laundry list of Pros and Cons lists, I decided this was absolutely the right decision for me!! Training starts on March 26th, I can’t wait!!! 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 3:56 pm

    pubs are involved in all of my favorite runs. yay for marathon registration! SF will be SO fun. I would totally be signing up if it wasn’t the week after my ironman.

  2. February 25, 2011 4:03 pm

    That pub run looks like it was a lot of fun! I find that when I run with groups I always end up just talking to myself, but I’m okay with that. It’s sometimes just nice to get out there and meet new people AND run in numbers, especially when it’s dark. 🙂

    YAY FOR SF!!!!

  3. February 25, 2011 4:43 pm

    i’ll be in SF – see ya there!

  4. February 25, 2011 4:46 pm

    FULL marathon!!!! Woohoo!!!

    Thanks for coming out last night, and thank you for taking pictures!!! See you tomorrow! 🙂

  5. February 25, 2011 8:11 pm

    YEAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH! Way to go for the big guns – but confess, it was the bigger medal that sealed the deal for you wasn’t it?!?! 😉

  6. February 26, 2011 12:13 am

    I LOVE your blog!!! We should go for a run together sometime and I would love to do a “pub run” sometime. Can anyone sign up on FB?

  7. February 26, 2011 11:57 am

    Remind me and I’ll join you for the next one. So happy for you on SF!!

Leave a Reply

