Skip to content

South Boston Yoga

February 18, 2011

As a commitment to my health, one of my major new year’s resolutions was to go to a yoga class once a week. After checking out a class at my gym, Prana Power Yoga, I finally tried South Boston Yoga. The studio recently upgraded to a larger space, located right across the street from the Broadway Red Line T stop. The studio is relatively convenient for me, located on the opposite edge of my neighborhood and a 15 minute walk from my office. I opted to try the Hot Yoga class, in hopes that I would up my chances to avoid injuries this summer. I absolutely LOVED the class.

Below are a few quick pros and cons:

Pros

  • Amazingly convenient, thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!
  • Great showers, changing areas, bathrooms, they were really clean and modern
  • Lockers, again, thank you!
  • Great instructors
  • Free class for first time visitors
  • If you bring a friend (who is visiting for their first time) you get a free class and so do they!
  • Absolutely NO attitude!! I loved how laid back and relaxed the staff and class goers were

Cons

  • The hot yoga room isn’t truly hot yoga. The room is warm, but it’s not to the same temperature as traditional hot yoga. The studio is still working out the details since their move in September, so this should be changing soon

That’s it for a con, and it’s not a bad thing! I look forward to visiting South Boston Yoga once a week to stay injury free! Hoooray!

South Boston Yoga is located at 36 West Broadway Boston, MA 02127

Namaste.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 9:35 pm

    In answer to your question: YES I will be in Boston in April and YES I will eat your cupcakes. (I can’t believe you even had to ask.) SO excited!

  2. February 19, 2011 11:30 am

    Someday Lizzy and Kimmy will do Hot Yoga together. Someday…

  3. February 20, 2011 1:59 pm

    ohhh I want to do hot yoga soooo badly right now!!! feels so good!
    I hope you’re having an awesome weekend!
    xoxo!

  4. February 20, 2011 10:13 pm

    Ahh I cannot wait to get back into yoga after the marathon is over – just hearing your description makes me want to take a class! I am having so much trouble fitting it in right now. Good instructors and a non-judgmental environment are key to a good studio!! In Boston I’ve tried Back Bay Yoga and really liked it, especially their Hip Hop Yoga (so fun). Baptiste Power Yoga also has some super great and challenging classes!

  5. February 21, 2011 11:50 am

    When I lived in Boston, I went to Sadhana, in the South End, and LOVED IT. I love me some sweaty hot nasty awesome yoga!!!!

Leave a Reply

