Skip to content

Resisting the Urge to Register for a Marathon

February 7, 2011

Does anyone know how to resist the urge to run a marathon? I am all ears because I seriously need help…

I’m obviously beyond excited for everyone running Boston, but it’s hard to track everyone’s training and not wish that I was going through the same thing. Pangs of jealousy. Then, last Tuesday, registration opened for the 2011 Chicago Marathon and watching others excitedly sign up and talk with their friends came with even more emotions. Waves of disappointment and guilt for pulling out of this marathon in 2010 come over me every time I hear it mentioned. I know someday I will run this, but 2011 is not the year.  Even though I know I shouldn’t register for another marathon, it doesn’t mean the urge to do it isn’t there…No Kim, no! Don’t do it!

As more and more races open up for registration, I know the temptation and the urge to register is only going to snowball. So, my strategy? Keep Busy!

  1. Fill my schedule with shorter races and focus on speed and setting goals for each distance. Anywhere from a 5k-13.1 Miles
  2. Add in several more Triathlons to add some variety to my schedule
  3. Finally join the L Street Running Club
  4. Go on long runs with friends who are training for marathons and live vicariously through their experience

I’m hoping that if I accomplish everything above that it will make my next marathon a much more fulfilling experience. However, if I can’t fight the urge and become absolutely dead set on running a full marathon,  I will register for a smaller race that doesn’t require an expensive flight or hotel room, but rather one that is an easy day trip.

Any tips on how I can resist the urge to register for a marathon?! I need HELP!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 11:29 am

    I am excited we just signed up the An Ras Mor 5K! It will be fun to race together again!

    Also, keep the Run the Reservoir 15K in mind too! 🙂

  2. February 7, 2011 11:49 am

    it’s TOUGH! I felt the chicago urge as well. resist! resist!

    • swimmykimy permalink*
      February 7, 2011 11:59 am

      I knowwww! I MUST resist! So much easier said than done though!

  3. February 7, 2011 1:00 pm

    I am no good at this. I find myself pushing the register button ALL the time. If you figure it out, let me know.

  4. February 7, 2011 1:21 pm

    Yes, we will live variously through our marathon friends swimmy! I like training with my marathon friends up to 15 miles, then their own their own : )

  5. February 7, 2011 1:29 pm

    I have been a member of L St for a long time- come run with us!

    • swimmykimy permalink*
      February 7, 2011 1:31 pm

      Adrienne! I really want to join, but I get anxiety sometimes thinking about joining new things! Let me know the next time you do a run and I will join 🙂 PS Congrats on the beautiful baby!

  6. February 7, 2011 2:55 pm

    I totally get jealous of others races….I know how you feel! I think you should do more tri’s because that is so hard core! YOU ARE AMAZING GIRL…have a great day!

  7. February 7, 2011 4:13 pm

    It is hard to read about other people’s races!! Maybe you could sign up for a couple of 10k’s or, as Janae said, more tri’s to keep you from signing up for one? Maybe you could also write down your top 3 reasons for not doing one right now, and why you want to wait until the right time comes along, and post it somewhere near your computer 🙂 I think it’s awesome that you have so much motivation that you want to harness, instead of the opposite!

  8. February 8, 2011 7:06 pm

    Hmmm…It is really hard to fight the urge! I am doing the same thing right now! I ran my first full marathon in November and I am tempted to sign up for the fall marathon again. Right now I am training for a half marathon in May. I am focusing on my speed! 🙂

  9. February 8, 2011 10:18 pm

    As long as you stick with the tris you’ll be golden! Keeping yourself busy is always a smart way to go.

  10. February 9, 2011 12:42 am

    ohhh my gosh I am in the same boat as you! I can’t wait for my june marathon! your 3 tactics look like good ideas! 🙂
    I hope youve been having a great week!
    xoxo!

Leave a Reply

