Skip to content

Designing Noel’s Boston Marathon Race Shirt

February 25, 2010

It’s the end of February and the Boston Marathon is right around the corner! I always get excited around marathon time: I get goosebumps when I see the first Adidas out of home ads go up the month before the race. Then, once the race weekend arrives there is a certain excitement in the air: the runners start to filter into the city, everyone’s conversation circles around the Patriot’s day festivities. Then, eventually on race day I sit on the end of my couch watching TV coverage of the gun going off in Hopkinton, and then head down to Heartbreak Hill, or Beacon St to watch the race and then finally, congratulate runners on their fantastic achievement around Copley Sq. Couple that excitement with the fact that one of my best friends is running this prestigious race and I’m full on freaking out! I email my friend constantly telling her about how we’re going to have a pasta party, where we’re going to cheer her on, what we’re going to do afterwards, the list goes on! Thankfully, she’s a good sport and says that my excitement is helping her stay focused and keep her eyes on the prize.

My newest obsession is designing a great race T-Shirt for my friend. She recently found out that she got into University of Florida’s MBA program, so I’m thinking of a Gator orange and blue scheme.

Here are my current thoughts, let me know what you think:

  • Gator orange shirt with blue lettering
  • BIG bold lettering for her name on the front of the shirt
  • Boston Marathon 2010, somewhere on the back
  • Perhaps an east coast map with a route line from Florida (where she’s from) to Boston
  • And some fun phrase/ or song lyric (TBD)

I still need to bring the idea to my graphic designer friends to see what they can come up with, but this is a start!

Can you tell I’m excited?!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. William Carter permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:56 pm

    Hi Kim

    I can’t believe I am actually skipping Boston after 3 straight. I think I have done 28 marathons in the last 5 and half years and Boston is truly my favorite. It just didn’t fit into my schedule this year and the logistics of doing that race are just so difficult. But I will be back in 2011 to try and best my 2:59 in 2008. I am really excited for your friend especially if this is her first Boston. I would definitely go with gator orange and blue so she will stick out in the sea of runners. Are you doing Boston this year?

    Take care and best of luck with your running!

    • swimmykimy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 2:23 pm

      Sadly, I’m not running 😦 I really want to qualify someday! This year I’m running Chicago and hoping to PR 🙂 Now I’m working on crossing training and core strength to get me in a good place for Chi town 🙂 What else are you training for?!

Leave a Reply

