Skip to content

Guest post: My first 5K

May 28, 2009

I’ve often said that running for the sake of running would be the cornerstone of my own personal hell (presuming the Devil serves individuals as opposed to a single fire-pit for everyone).

Recently, lacking the time to get to the gym and falling well out of shape, I resorted to putting myself through my own personal hell – I signed up for a 5K and began to run 2 miles a few times a week. This past weekend was the 5K and I convinced a couple friends to join me – we finished it in around 30 minutes – leisurely pace, but it was the longest I’ve ever run just for the sake of running.  And, as you can see below, I received a second place medal* for my efforts!
memorial day road race8

Well, after running for a few weeks I don’t like running, but I don’t hate it either.  And, I feel better in general – I’ve always been happier when exercising regularly.   I’ll never be running marathons like Kim does, but I am hoping to run another 5K or two this summer (or a 5.2 mile Brewery Race – for obvious reasons).

*Ok, so everyone got medals, but I did finish in 2nd place…in the 211-225 Clydesdale Open Division

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

