Skip to content

Twitter+ Nike+=Twiike

April 7, 2009

The other day I checked my email to see the usual suspects: a sale alert at Gilt Group, a Boston event alert, a facebook notification and of course, an email detailing some new twitter followers. As I went through deciding who to follow, I noticed that one name stood out from the others: Twiike (Twitter and Nike+.) I immediately followed back and over the next few days I watched the runs pour in to my twitter feed- pretty cool stuff!
leaderboard
Nike+ has been touted as the ultimate product partnership and interactive campaign. The emergence of the twitter feed for your runs is just another step in the integrated marketing process. Allowing Nike+ users in the twitter community to engage in this user centric environment only furthers the conversation of the Nike and Apple brands. But, will this actually work? A couple things I’m interested in tracking: Does this has the staying power of the actual Nike+ device? How can this Twitter application go further? I can see this application morphing into a community of people all training for the same race and then going head to head on training runs and sharing training tips.

I have personally clicked on specific Nike+ users to follow them and track their everyday runs as well as their tweets concerning races they have registered for etc. This only further expands my circle of fellow runners in the social media sphere, which is a niche I always want to expand. I encourage everyone to try it out, it’s pretty cool stuff. If you have any thoughts or suggestions for other running or fitness applications please comment on this blog or tweet me @swimmyimy.

Happy running!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Big B permalink
    April 14, 2009 12:54 pm

    Thats a cool idea. I use LogYourRun.com and it has the option to tweet your workout, works pretty well.

Leave a Reply

