Skip to content

The concept of “rest”

September 25, 2013

I have approached that time of year where I have to utter that dreaded four letter word:

REST.

For those who know me well, and quite frankly those who know me via the inter web know that I don’t sit or rest well. My mom said this about me when I was a baby, and I guess it’s a skill that I simply never learned.

The thing about participating in endurance sports is that you push your body to the limit, sometimes it gets angry with you. That happened in March when my hip began to hurt so much that I physically could not run, never mind sit for long periods in the car or at a desk.

After months and months of rehabbing and a misdiagnosis, I found the cause of my problem: my lower back. I won’t bore you will specifics (if you are curious feel free to ask!), but the pain I was feeling in my back was caused by an issue with a disc in my lower back, so I started treatment for that with the help of my miracle worker chiropractor and magically things started feeling better. Finally, I was able to run pain free, for the first time in months and even though it wasn’t advisable during my treatment, I was able to keep up half ironman training and successfully complete the race pain free with a smile on my face.

Once I bid adieu to triathlon season (tear), I made a promise to myself that I would slow down and rest. Even though it is eating a bit of my soul, I know that this is a good thing for my body and future athletic pursuits.

Mentally, I know it’s good to take a break from the grind of constantly peeling out high mileage.

When I say “rest”, I’m not completely checking out from the gym, swimming or running; I’m just doing workouts at a much lower intensity. I’ve been enjoying my quick 3.5 mile runs around my beautiful neighborhood in this delicious time of year.

I’ve reacquainted myself with a contraption known as the elliptical or one of my favorite calorie burners, the “big step.” I’m still finding joy in the pool and sweating it out in spin class, the only difference being, these activities max out at 30-45 minutes and include a fierce menu of stretching and icing afterwards.

So what am I doing with all of my free time?

Making delicious dinners with Foxy:

image-1

Has anyone tried Dave’s Gourmet Butternut Squash pasta sauce? It is UN-REAL! Pricey, but definitely worth it.

Spending time with my adorable nieces and nephew, though I would like to do more of this!

photo-3

Enjoying fall in my neighborhood on beautiful days like this one:

image-2

Enjoying delicious beverages (who am I kidding, I did that during training too :))

photo-5

Icing other sore and tired body parts with interesting compression devices. Pashmina anyone?

photo-4

and lastly, I’m still keeping my athletic goals in my mind by catching up on blogs and watching some favorite motivational movies

image-3

In addition to all of this fun, I’ve been scheming a really fun adventure and a few exciting side projects I hope to share in the next few weeks. 

What are your favorite “off-season” activities? Do you have any suggestions for me? 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 3, 2013 3:51 pm

    I have a hard time with rest, too! I’m missing my six-hour Sundays :)

    So glad to hear you’re now pain-free! There’s almost nothing worse than an injury… so frustrating!

    OMG… Dave’s Gourmet butternut squash sauce is the BEST. Pretty sure I could eat it with a spoon straight from the jar :)

    Enjoy your down time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,619 other followers

