Skip to content

Back At It!

May 31, 2011

After a brief hiatus and injury scare, I’m back to running! Leading up to the Heartbreak Hill Half Marathon my left hip really started to bother me. I took a few days off of running in the beginning of the week in favor of cross training, and decided that while it might hurt during my half, I would deal with the ramifications afterwards. The race obviously went well, but the pain only increased as the week went on. crap, crap, crap.

A week after the half, I was setting out for a 15 mile run when my hip was hurting so much that I decided to cut it off at mile 8. Luckily I felt strong throughout those 8 miles, but the pain was so bad that I knew I needed to pump the breaks. I knew it was the right decision, but I felt deflated going into a long weekend in North Carolina for Foxy’s college roommate’s wedding weekend. So, I made the decision, to take a full week off and ice the #$&! out of my hip. The decision to rest didn’t come easily, and over that week I felt exhausted and just plain depressed. I started having nightmares of last year’s Chicago marathon training cycle that ended before it could ever get off the ground, mostly because my PT was too cautious and held me back for so long that when I got back into training I was way too far behind. It was a tough week, full of QT with Aleve, ice bags and frozen veggie bags and than I have experienced in a long time. Hello Ice, it’s been fun, but I think I’m ready to say goodbye.

Luckily, Lizzy put me in touch with her amazing PT, and he cleared me to run, the very day after my appointment. I was actually so surprised that I almost thought he was joking with me. The diagnosis? Mild hip bursitis and an extremely tight IT Band. If I played it safe, I would be back in no time. All of a sudden “crap, crap, crap” turned into “YES, YES, YES!”

Leaving the appointment I felt a sense of relief and empowerment which was a stark departure from the feelings of the 7 days leading up to that day. Yes! I will 100% run 26.2 miles on 7/31, and I am going to have an amazing time while I’m at it. Tomorrow morning I head to my PT for the second time, in hopes that I am cleared to run double digit mileage.

Thank you to Lizzy for putting me in touch with the miracle man & all of my friends for helping me keep the faith! I’m definitely not out of the woods yet, but I will be foam rolling, icing, stretching and ice bathing (for the first time…I need your help on this!) until July 31st.

Since I was able to get back on the road over Memorial Day Weekend, I thought I would share a beach photo from my beloved beach at my family’s house Cape Cod. This summer marks the 50th year that the house has been in my family, and it is the year of many, many improvements that I can’t wait to share. Most of all, there is one thing that really can never be improved, and will always be my sanctuary…

How do you cop with injuries? I end up taking them too hard and hiding from the blogging world from a bit, which is something I vow to change!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 9:59 pm

    I’m so glad that it all worked out for you, I can imagine that being a relief! And that beach looks lovely!

  2. June 1, 2011 5:55 am

    Any little ache or pain is so nerve-wracking, especially when you’re training for an important race. I totally understand your need to step back and deal with the situation on your own. I’m glad you’re back up and running again!

    I’ve heard so many good things about this PT of Lizzy’s that if anything ever happens, that’s where I’m going!

  3. June 1, 2011 6:28 am

    Jake is the man!!! Happy to help! Can’t wait.for you to run 26.2 on 7/31! & the cape is the best place on earth. I’m posting about it today to o!

  4. June 1, 2011 10:20 am

    Glad you found a good PT and that your pain isn’t too serious! I was pretty upset after my first bad injury, because it happened a few weeks before my first marathon so my heart was broken. Now I try to keep in mind that I’ll likely have lots of injuries over the years and it’s just a part of running. Of course, if it happened close to a race again I would be very upset

  5. June 1, 2011 10:37 am

    glad to hear you are cleared to run, whew, what a scare!

  6. June 1, 2011 12:48 pm

    Echoing LIzzy, Jake is amazing and we are happy to have you at the PT family. My IT band is crap too but we will get through it and here you are running already, don’t you love him as a PT? You should come to his race on the 11th that he holds every year in honor of his brother who passed away from ALS…

  7. June 1, 2011 2:19 pm

    So glad to hear you’re feeling better and back to running, Kimmy! Injuries are really tough – for me it’s been a lot of ups and downs, and wanting so badly to return to running but then not really enjoying it…just an ongoing process. I’ve found attitude is the most important thing. It sounds like icing and all that stuff will be really important for your recovery, so maybe actually blocking out time in your calendar to do it would help? That helps me with strength training or other workouts that I tend to blow off :) So happy you’re in touch with a GOOD PT!

  8. June 1, 2011 8:20 pm

    I am sorry that you were injured! Injuries are the worst!!!! I hope you feel better soon! Good luck and I am glad you found a good PT!

  9. June 2, 2011 9:17 am

    So glad to hear you were cleared to run! I’ve heard great things about Lizzy’s PT. Now I know who to call if I ever need one :) I’m not the best about handling injury and tend to let it get me down more than it should. It’s definitely an area I need to work on!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,619 other followers

